LoV-Write

December: Marketing

Dear You,

I have, at long last, entered the marketing segment of the publishing process which means I must answer a multitude of questions about niche markets, and re-assess my reasons for writing in the first place. I have to ask myself: Why would I read it? Why should I read? What makes it interesting? What’s the purpose for selling this book? Why did I write the book? Why is it worth sharing? What motivation do I have for writing and selling this book?

Thinking about these things I’m remembering how December started. It started as a kind of challenge from my parents, namely my father, to capture my perceptions of society as a 19-year-old boy. I kept regular journals at the time, so the project started as journalistic entries and slowly evolved into this fictionalized cascade of internal monologue.

I think December is worth selling because it is entirely about an individual’s perception of the world, and this individual is “different” from other people. What makes this novel interesting is that, apart from social perceptions and ideations of society, the novel shows a divide between thought and action by inverting the typical italicizing pattern in a style similar to stage writing. That is, the physical actions and exterior actions are written in italic, while the interior monologue is plain text.

My motivation, then, for selling and writing this book -aside from efforts towards world domination- is to create a text that will provide historians and sociologists insights into the perceptions of we who have lived in the 21st century.

That’s what I’ve thought so far on these questions, and they are subject to change, but for now I hope all is well with you and that you’ll find a chance to examine my book and assess what meaning (or lack thereof) lies within the pages.

Your friend,

 

Judah

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

