LoV-Write

Dear You: December

Dear You,

It has been a busy few weeks because I’m finishing college and working on marketing December. I’ve started a Facebook page for December and I received my first book order this past week end. I now have to sign and deliver these books which will be, I think, rather enjoyable. In the meantime, I want to share the prologue (A Note From the Author) with you. Here it is:

Dear Reader,

I wish to thank you, first and foremost, for taking a moment to read my note and for examining my book; I hope you find her enjoyable. I would like to prepare you for what you are about to read, because she is a book unlike other books in that she has refused to adhere to conventional standards of narrative beauty and character development, and lacks those vampires, wizards, and romances that seem to have taken over pop culture.

Instead, this book has insisted on speaking through a single, limited perspective that strives to reproduce the private individual thought. You’ll find that Cole, whose mind is reproduced in this book, asks many more questions than he finds answers for, and that his thoughts can become disjointed or even confusing.

I would like to offer you a bit of information that should help you follow Cole’s stream of consciousness, and navigate the discontinuity of his private perception: As Cole reflects on his journey he is struggling to leave the confines of his thoughts and live more fully in the experiential world of the day-to-day, because of this it’s important to pay attention to the ‘here’ and ‘now’ within the text and to take notice of Cole’s level of awareness at any given point.

Now I hope, as many writers do, that you will continue to read and find some measure of meaning from the thoughts and perceptions preserved here in this book.

 

I’m rather pleased with this process, and I hope you’ll enjoy your copy. I’ve made it unique (of course), just for you.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

